Posts tagged 'Animals'

Mystery Reader:One Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

eucalyptus treeOne Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree        

by Daniel Bernstrom; pictures by Brendan Wenzel

K - 2nd Grade 

Rhythmic text and a boy who outsmarts a snake are two excellent reasons to read this humorous book aloud.  If that is not enought to entice young readers and adults, the comedic growing reptilian stomach in the tradition of "There Was an Old Woman who Swallowed a Fly" will lead children to shout out predictions as to how the boy might escape the belly of the snake. For added fun have the kids repeat the refrain "One Day in the Eucalyptus, Eucalyptus Tree" after you, a little bit louder each time.          

book 

  

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  K  Humor  Eva's Picks  Animals  2nd  1st

 

Mystery Reader Picks: I Want My Hat Back

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

I want my hat backI Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen

K - 2nd 

Bear's hat is missing.  Who took it?  Follow the visual clues to discover the culprit. Humor, repetitive rhythmic text with a twisty ending and wonderfully expressive animals makes this award-winning book a sure hit. And this charming and quirky tale will generate lots of interesting observations and discussion.  

book 

  

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  K  Irreverant  Humor  Eva's Picks  Animals  3rd  2nd  1st

 

5 New Winter Board Books

 

snow

Snow  by Carol Thompson

Baby - Toddler

A sensory adventure that will delight your little one as you discover and enjoy together all of the wintry offerings of the season. 

book

 

Winter  Toddler  Snow  Pre-K  K  Board Books  Baby  Animals

 

Mystery Reader Picks: You Will Be My Friend!

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our new blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians will recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

 

you will be my friendYou Will Be My Friend!  by Peter Brown

K-2nd

Lucy is an irrepressible young bear with some boundary issues. In You Will Be My Friend! she is determined to find a new friend to do cartwheels, have picnics, go swimming, and have a dance party with. Unfortunately, things seem to always go hilariously wrong. Some animals just don’t want to be her friend. Even worse, when she tries to make friends with bees, she eats their house. But don’t worry, the story ends with friendship found – whew! 

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  K  Ann's Picks  Animals  2nd  1st

 

Mystery Reader Picks: Please, Open This Book!

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our new blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians will recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Please Open This BookPlease, Open This Book! by Adam Lehrhaupt

2nd-3rd

Irreverent animals are trapped in this book! "Help us!" They plead. Keep the book open to save them.  Quirky humor and shout outs to readers will work well in a classroom setting where children will be advocating on behalf of the animals. Don't shut the book!  Keep reading.  What more could a mystery reader ask for? Perfect for fans of The Book With No Pictures. Ideal for 2nd and 3rd grade kids.

book 

  

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  Meta-fiction  Irreverant  Humor  Eva's Picks  Animals  3rd  2nd

 

Mystery Reader Picks: The Bear Report

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our new blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians will recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Bear Report

The Bear Report by Thyra Heder 

K – 2nd 

Homework has never been so much fun!  Finding three facts about Polar Bears leads Sophie to learn about many animals in the Artic with her very own Polar Bear to guide her.  Perfect for our Polar Pages Reading Program and just in time for winter, this pick will appeal to a class of children who will wish a Polar Bear would come over to help them with their next research project.

 

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  K  Barbara's Picks  Animals  2nd  1st

 

Archive posts

Collapse all

Excerpts is the library newsletter and comes out every three months. It is mailed to every Glencoe resident. Copies of the newsletter are available online (below) and at the library. Please be sure to check the library calendar for program updates.

2020 Issues

March 2020

2019 Issues

December 2019

September 2019

June 2019

March 2019

2018 Issues

December 2018

September 2018

March 2018

June 2018

2017 Issues

December 2017

March 2017

June 2017

September 2017

2016 Issues

December 2016

September 2016

March 2016

June 2016

2015 Issues

December 2015
September 2015
June 2015

March 2015

2014 Issues
December 2014
September 2014
June 2014
March 2014

2013 Issues
December 2013
September 2013
June 2013
March 2013

2012 Issues
December 2012
September 2012
June 2012
March 2012

2011 Issues
December 2011
September 2011
June 2011
March 2011

2010 Issues
December 2010
September 2010
June 2010
March 2010

2009 Issues
December 2009
September 2009
June 2009
March 2009

2008 Issues
December 2008