Posts tagged '3rd'

Mystery Reader Picks: Be Quiet!

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Be QuietBe Quiet!

by Ryan T. Higgins 

2nd and 3rd Grade 

This tongue-in-cheek book is about the creation of an artistic wordless book.  Through humorous interjections and downright silly exchanges Rupert mouse and his friends write the least wordless book ever.  It is so “loud” with words on every page that poor Rupert is defeated in his attempt to create a book where he will be the star in a visually stimulating wordless book.  Read to 2nd and 3rd graders for a huge guffaw!!  Pair with the Book with No Pictures and the truly wordless books Flashlight or Journey

 

Mystery Reader Picks  Humor  Eva's Picks  3rd  2nd

 

Mystery Reader: Monster Trouble

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Monster TroubleMonster Trouble!       

by Lane Fredrickson ; pictures by Michael Robertson

K - 3rd Grade 

Monsters have infested Winifred Schnitzel’s bedroom. They don’t scare her, but they make it hard for her to get any sleep. How will Winifred get these pesky monsters to leave her alone? Luckily, she has a book of monster traps--and a secret weapon! Though Fredrickson’s text appears clunky at first, the rhythm and meter flow beautifully, and the rhyming makes the book perfect for reading aloud to young children without adding a Mother Goose element older children might find off-putting. The delightful traps in Winifred’s Monsters Beware book recall Dr. Seuss and Rube Goldberg, and listeners will love how Winifred eventually solves her monster problem. It’s Robertson’s charming digital illustrations, however, that set Monster Trouble! apart. His artwork mimics a cut-paper collage, allowing for texture and depth, and his style seems to reference Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends. The vivid colors counteract the sleepy subject matter and complement Winifred’s bold personality; the images showcase her bravery and ingenuity. He renders the monsters with care, making their monstrous nature obvious yet simultaneously not too scary for the youngest of readers. Perfect for fans of Pixar’s Monsters, Inc. movies and Foster’s, Monster Trouble! is an endearing read-aloud story that will entertain adults and youngsters alike.

 

PreK  Picture Book  Mystery Reader  K  Emily's Picks  3rd  2nd  1st

 

Are You Ready For The Summer ? The Camp Edition for Ages Pre-K - Junior High

 

froggy

Froggy Goes to Camp  by Jonathan London and Illustrated by Frank Remkiewicz 

Pre-K - 1st Grade

Froggy is on a new adventure.  He goes off to camp where he learns new skills, makes friends and of course misplaces his swimming trunks.  Uh! Oh!  

book

 

Summer  PreK  K  Junior High  Eva's Picks  Camp  8th  7th  6th  5th  4th  3rd  2nd  1st

 

Mystery Reader: Are We There Yet?

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Are We There YetAre We There Yet? by Dan Santat

2nd and 3rd Grade 

How many times have you heard this question?  "Are we there yet?" If you are like me you probably cannot count that high.  Caldecott medalist, Dan Santat takes us on a colorful journey right from the inside cover of the book until we reach the final destination(grandmother's house).  Car ride boredom leads to great flights of fancy reminding us that a whole lot can happen when kids are left to rely on their imagination for entertainment.  Children will get a huge kick out of the humorous images and thought bubbles and the way in which the book must be rotated to be read.          

book 

  

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  Irreverant  Humor  Eva's Picks  3rd  2nd

 

Need a new graphic novel? Try these out-of-this-world space stories:

 

Glorkian Warrior

Book One:  The Glorkian Warrior Delivers A Pizza

Series: The Glorkian Warrior by James Kochalka

1st Grade and Up

Space  Series  Ms. Sophie's Picks  Graphic Novels  6th  5th  4th  3rd  2nd  1st

 

Mystery Reader Picks: I Want My Hat Back

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

I want my hat backI Want My Hat Back by Jon Klassen

K - 2nd 

Bear's hat is missing.  Who took it?  Follow the visual clues to discover the culprit. Humor, repetitive rhythmic text with a twisty ending and wonderfully expressive animals makes this award-winning book a sure hit. And this charming and quirky tale will generate lots of interesting observations and discussion.  

book 

  

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  K  Irreverant  Humor  Eva's Picks  Animals  3rd  2nd  1st

 

5 Books to Celebrate Women's History Month

 

viva frida

Viva Frida  by Yuyi Morales

PreK - 2nd Grade

Through unique combinations of mixed-media this award winning picture book celebrates the life and artistic talents of famous painter Frida Kahlo.  Poetic text and vibrant colors will speak to children and adults alike.

book

 

Women  PreK  Miss Eva's Picks  Girls  Biographies  7th  6th  5th  4th  3rd  2nd  1st

 

Mystery Reader Picks: Please, Open This Book!

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our new blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians will recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Please Open This BookPlease, Open This Book! by Adam Lehrhaupt

2nd-3rd

Irreverent animals are trapped in this book! "Help us!" They plead. Keep the book open to save them.  Quirky humor and shout outs to readers will work well in a classroom setting where children will be advocating on behalf of the animals. Don't shut the book!  Keep reading.  What more could a mystery reader ask for? Perfect for fans of The Book With No Pictures. Ideal for 2nd and 3rd grade kids.

book 

  

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  Meta-fiction  Irreverant  Humor  Eva's Picks  Animals  3rd  2nd

 

Mystery Reader Picks: Unicorn Thinks He's Pretty Great

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school?  In our new blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit.  Our librarians will recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade.  Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.    

Mystery Reader Picks:

Unicorn thinks hes pretty great

Unicorn Thinks He's Pretty Great by Bob Shea 

K- 3rd 

It’s hard to be a goat, especially when Unicorn is around. Unicorn can fly, turn things into gold, and make it rain cupcakes. But it turns out Goat has talents that Unicorn admires, too. Together, they just might make an unstoppable team. This brightly illustrated story with a touch of humor is fun to read and has a positive message about friendship.  

 

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  K  Friendship  Ann's Picks  3rd  2nd  1st

 

Mystery Reader Picks: Those Darn Squirrels by Adam Rubin

Are you mystery reader this week in your child’s school? In our new blog column “Mystery Reader Picks” we would like to offer you book suggestions for your school visit. Our librarians will recommend favorite read aloud choices for kindergarten through 3rd grade. Check back every other week for a new title and stop by or give us a call for many more selections.  

Mystery Reader Picks:

Those Darn SquirrelsThose Darn Squirrels by Adam Rubin.

K – 3rd

Old Man Fookwire is a grump who only likes painting pictures of birds. He hopes that by feeding the birds he will keep them in his yard instead of flying south for the winter. But squirrels keep getting into his birdfeeders! As Old Man Fookwire soon discovers, it’s hard to thwart a wily group of squirrels…but it’s even better to have squirrels on your side. Good for anyone who has ever thought that squirrels are too smart for their own good. Not good for people who think “darn” is a swear word. Also check out the sequels, Those Darn Squirrels Fly South and Those Darn Squirrels and the Cat Next Door.

 

Picture Books  Mystery Reader  K  Humor  Ann's Picks  3rd  2nd  1st

 

Excerpts is the library newsletter and comes out every three months. It is mailed to every Glencoe resident. Copies of the newsletter are available online (below) and at the library. Please be sure to check the library calendar for program updates.

2020 Issues

March 2020

2019 Issues

December 2019

September 2019

June 2019

March 2019

2018 Issues

December 2018

September 2018

March 2018

June 2018

2017 Issues

December 2017

March 2017

June 2017

September 2017

2016 Issues

December 2016

September 2016

March 2016

June 2016

2015 Issues

December 2015
September 2015
June 2015

March 2015

2014 Issues
December 2014
September 2014
June 2014
March 2014

2013 Issues
December 2013
September 2013
June 2013
March 2013

2012 Issues
December 2012
September 2012
June 2012
March 2012

2011 Issues
December 2011
September 2011
June 2011
March 2011

2010 Issues
December 2010
September 2010
June 2010
March 2010

2009 Issues
December 2009
September 2009
June 2009
March 2009

2008 Issues
December 2008